Question: What Computers Are The Highest Authorities In The DNS Hierarchy?

The root servers are the ultimate authorities in the domain name system hierarchy.

Which type of DNS record identifies an email server?

Mail exchanger record (MX Record)—specifies an SMTP email server for the domain, used to route outgoing emails to an email server. Name Server records (NS Record)—specifies that a DNS Zone, such as “” is delegated to a specific Authoritative Name Server, and provides the address of the name server.

Which part of the MAC address is unique to each manufacturer?

To make sure every MAC addresses is unique, the first 24 bits of the address identify the NIC’s manufacturer. Manufacturer’s are assigned these numbers, called an Organizationally Unique Identifier (OUI), by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

What is the range of addresses that might be assigned by apipa?

The IP address range is 169.254. 0.1 through 169.254. 255.254. The client also configures itself with a default class B subnet mask of 255.255.

What are the types of DNS records?

DNS Record types

  • A (Host address)
  • AAAA (IPv6 host address)
  • ALIAS (Auto resolved alias)
  • CNAME (Canonical name for an alias)
  • MX (Mail eXchange)
  • NS (Name Server)
  • PTR (Pointer)
  • SOA (Start Of Authority)

What is DNS lookup used for?

Use the DNS lookup tool to find the IP address of a certain domain name. The results will include the IP addresses in the DNS records received from the name servers.

What is the IPv4 loopback address?

How many bits does an IPv6 address contain?

128 bits

What command line utility can you use to assign the correct DNS server IP address?

ipconfig /flushdns

What three characteristics distinguish TCP from UDP?

What three characteristics distinguish TCP from UDP. TCP is Connection-oriented, provides reliability through checksum, flow control, and sequencing information.

What OSI layer does IP operate?

Layer 4 – Transport

The best known example of the Transport Layer is the Transmission Control Protocol (TCP), which is built on top of the Internet Protocol (IP), commonly known as TCP/IP. TCP and UDP port numbers work at Layer 4, while IP addresses work at Layer 3, the Network Layer.

How many bits of a Class A IP address are used for host information?

Class A addresses: The first 8 bits of the IP address are used for the network ID. The final 24 bits are used for the host ID. Class B addresses: The first 16 bits of the IP address are used for the network ID. The final 16 bits are for the host ID.

What are the two types of DNS?

The DNS term is used by many names, like name server, domain name system and nameserver. Here we are going to see the main TWO types of DNS which are Master / Slave DNS concepts. Master DNS server is also known as the Primary DNS Server. In Linux, we will be using popular software to install DNS named BIND.

What is DNS and its records?

DNS servers create a DNS record to provide important information about a domain or hostname, particularly its current IP address. The most common DNS record types are: Address Mapping record (A Record)—also known as a DNS host record, stores a hostname and its corresponding IPv4 address.

What is the most common record type in DNS?

Common DNS records and their uses

  1. The A record is one of the most commonly used record types in any DNS system.
  2. The MX record, which stands for “mail exchange”, is used to identify mail servers to which mail should be delivered for a domain.
  3. An NS record identifies which DNS server is authoritative for a particular zone.